image of the 2022 council

The City of Selkirk is governed by an elected City Council, made up of six Councillors and one Mayor who is the head of council. The City of Selkirk is not broken into wards, so each member of council represents all citizens in the community. City Council sets the strategic direction for the city and provides general policy guidance to the City’s administration. Day-to-day management of the City is the responsibility of the Chief Administrative Officer, who reports to City Council directly.

Council’s core authorities and responsibilities are defined by the Municipal Act of Manitoba. Generally speaking, each member of council must attend council and committee meetings and participate in the development and evaluation of policies and programs that consider the well-being and interests of the municipality as a whole.


Mayor Larry Johannson

Deputy Mayor April Smith

Councillor Kelly Cook

Councillor Lorie Fiddler

[email protected]


Councillor John Buffie


Councillor Darlene Swiderski

Councillor Doug Poirier